and updates on the
California Lemon Law
You are currently viewing our Lemon Law reference page for :
Pennsylvania - Statute Title 73, §1951
- Vehicles Covered:
- New and unused vehicles purchased and registered in state, including demonstrator and dealer cars that convey fewer than fifteen persons. Excludes motorcycles, motor homes, off-road and commercial vehicles.
- Persons Covered:
- Purchasers, persons, successors and assigns, who purchased or received by transfer a new motor vehicle for primarily personal, family, or household purposes.
- Period Covered:
- Whichever is first: one year from date of delivery or first 12,000 miles.
- Notice Requirement:
- (a) Manufacturer - provide written statement of Attorney General's bulletin explaining rights under this law; (b) Consumer - if delivery for repair is impossible, written notice to the manufacturer.
- Repair Requirements:
- It is presumed that a reasonable number of attempts have been made if the same nonconformity has been subjected to three or more repairs, or the vehicle is out of service for a cumulative total of 30 or more calendar days.
- Affirmative Defenses:
- The nonconformity does not substantially impair the use, value or safety of the vehicle, or is the result of abuse, neglect, or any unauthorized modifications or alterations.
- At the consumer's option, the manufacturer shall replace with a comparable vehicle of equal value, or refund the full purchase price less a reasonable allowance (defined).
- Other Reimbursement:
- Collateral charges and refunds to the consumer and lien holder.
- Other remedies:
- There is no limit on other consumer remedies. Civil action for manufacturer's non-compliance, attorney fees and all court costs. Non-compliance is deemed a violation of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Act.
- For remedies under this section, a consumer must use the informal dispute procedure established by the manufacturer provided that it complies with 16 C.F.R. 703.
- Dealer Liability:
- Resale of Lemon:
- Full disclosure required. If the vehicle is likely to cause death or serious bodily injury if driven, then it may not be resold. Manufacturer must provide an express warranty lasting for the first 12,000 miles, or first 12 months after resale.
Disclaimer: Please note that statutes may have been amended since the book was originally published in 2005.
Please consult your Secretary of State or local DMV office for the most recent and up to date statutes for the California Lemon Law.